Evan Healy Green Tea Clay Mask

Clay mask are great for drawing out impurities, but there’s a right way and a wrong way to use them.

I’ve been looking around for a good clay mask and haven’t had much luck – until today. I was at Whole Foods and asked for a recommendation and the gal handling that department said that she uses the Evan Healy Green Tea Clay* mask a couple of times a week and really loves it – so I picked up a jar and gave it a whirl.

DSCF2914-Edit

Back to the right way and wrong way – this is important – clay masks are great until they start drying out too much. Once they are dry, they begin to suck the life (and moisture) out of your skin, so it’s crucial to get it off your face before you start to see the mask cracking.

This particular mask requires you to add equal parts of the clay powder and water (about a teaspoon) to create the paste and, once on, it dries very quickly so you may only have it on for a couple of minutes before rinsing it off with warm water. The Evan Healy website advises leaving on for 10-15 minutes – I personally think that’s way too long. Since everyone’s skin is a little different, you’ll know what’s best for you – when you feel it tighten up, it’s time.

Let the water loosen the clay from your skin gently as you rinse – better yet, apply the mask just before getting into the shower and let the shower do the work. Never use a wash cloth to remove a clay mask, it will cause a lot of unwanted damage.

DSCF2926-Edit

My skin feels very soft, but I think I left it on a bit longer than I should have (taking that silly picture) because it gobbled up my moisturizer in no time. It’s the first mask I’ve used in a while that I could actually feel working. And, bonus, you can also use a little dab of the paste on blemishes to help clear up hormonal break outs.

Now, I’ve only used it once, so this isn’t a complete review. I’ll continue to use it once or twice a week and provide an update on this post.

Note the dark circles under my eyes – no sleep last night and not enough water today; it shows, yikes! “)

*This is not a paid review; just my two cents. 

Leave a comment